WOTTONCOOL


Yves Saint Laurent at MBS
Monday 15 November 2010, 8:46 am
Filed under: - Jo, - Sarah, Desirables, Off the Racks | Tags: , , , , ,

The French fashion house, Yves Saint Laurent, has, to me, always been synonymous with an understated simplicity and insurmountable elegance. Credited for the introduction of a women’s tuxedo suit, Le Smoking, which is probably the sexiest name you could have for a suit. (; Yves Saint Laurent started his career working at the House of Dior, before starting his own fashion house.

Despite the passing of the designer in 2008, YSL still remains a powerhouse in the industry, backed by parent company, The Gucci Group.

Last Friday night was no exception to YSL’s promise of everything luxe, sophisticated and stylish as Jo and I rubbed shoulders with fashion’s elite at YSL’s Marina Bay Sands boutique opening. The party was in full swing when we arrived with guests merrily mingling and dipping into their deep pockets to add YSL A/W2010 to their wardrobes.

We were drinking champagne and nibbling on hors d’oeuvres amongst signature pieces like the ponyhair fringe pumps and arty rings, which Jo was very tempted to acquire. And, which I also assume should be sold out by now because they retail for only $280. The rings, I mean.

I could only oogle from afar as I observed guests trying (and buying) shoes, bags and accessories all around me while I, happily, clutched my new iPad (: but more on that later.

For now, I can only lust about my future YSL bag.

Hanging out with Jo and Bagaholicboy too much is not good for the bank account balance…

“I have often said that I wish I had invented blue jeans: the most spectacular, the most practical, the most relaxed and nonchalant. They have expression, modesty, sex appeal, simplicity – all I hope for in my clothes.”

- Yves Saint-Laurent


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

