WOTTONCOOL


Geek Art

I consider myself to be rather geeky.

I don’t think that there has to be clear distinctions between art and science, in contrast the the streaming process at the end of secondary 2. SMU (not so) recently had an exhibition with the intention of bringing art to the masses to experience, in more ways than one. Titled ‘nonSENSE’, the pieces incorporated elements of sound and texture, in addition to the traditional visual elements. One particular piece is by Joshua Yang.

Joshua Yang
Trying to tie up the loose ends but leaving just enough room to breathe
Drawing installation

Photo from: http://www.smu.edu.sg/students/student_life/arts/arts2.asp

The piece takes up a significant amount of space on the wall and uses a concept called ‘line theory’ or ‘superstring’. This concept is about using a continuous line to draw.

I recall the first time I came across this concept. Joshua Yang had won the Abstract Category of the UOB Painting of the Year 2005

Superstring, 2005. By Joshua Yang

Photo from: http://verticalsubmarine.multiply.com/photos/album/6/joshua_yang#

After understanding more about this artsy yet sciency piece, I used a different, but geeky nonetheless, concept for my own art piece for A Levels called ‘fractals’.

Fractals are naturally occurring self-repeating patterns that can be either geometric or naturally occurring. Too big a mouthful to swallow? Let me break it down further.

A self-repeating patterns means that when you zoom into the pattern, it looks exactly the same as the zoomed out pattern image. Geometric fractals use geometric shapes to build/create these fractal patterns.

(ignore the upper portion of this picture)

The lower portion show different fractal patterns. From basic lines (centre, the bougainvillea plant is an example of this linear fractal pattern. Look closely at the small thorny parts next time you see it), to triangles, to squares, and even with circles.

Fractals, I find, are easiest explained using circles. In the circular drawing, there are many more smaller circles inside. When any three circles meet, they create a triangular space within. Within this triangular space, you draw another circle that touches the three larger circles to create three smaller triangular spaces and you can keep repeating this processes infinitely (or until you get tired of drawing).

In the above image, I’ve also included naturally occurring types of fractals, that aren’t as structured, in the form of paint blobs that have been squished between two flat surfaces and then peeled apart.

After the hard work of peeling layers of paper with squished wet paint in the centre apart, among other things, I came up with this.

Fractals, 2006. By Sarah Swee

Its been awhile since I’ve done anything substantial. But for one of my modules, we had to do a drawing. And being inspired, yet again, by Joshua Yang, the final result was as such.

(i can’t even remember what i titled this piece, will update later), 2008. By Sarah Swee

I suppose its apt that i drew a piece from the Renaissance period whereby the marriage of art and science was widely used and applied.

I intend to translate both concepts onto shirts that I can wear, and possibly sell, if people wanted to buy them. Perhaps in two weeks time, when I don’t have as many working hours. Would you wear a shirt/tank with designs like these?

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I would I would! I think i have commissioned you many projects for me, hahahaha 😀 there’s the one sleeve shawl, i want the shirt/tank with this print… and the ones i tend to embark for you/myself is the tina k pleated front top, melly fantasize top, jayson b jazz dress in a top version… lalalalala (:

Comment by wottoncool

this post is very cool. love it!

Comment by Soon Lee

totalllly cool (: and would totally wear it if u made me one. LOL

Comment by cheryl

[…] from here. And previously blogged about here (: Having come across Joshua’s work on several occasions, I really enjoy the sense of […]

Pingback by Update! « WOTTONCOOL




Leave a Reply

