WOTTONCOOL


Summer Mags
Monday 26 May 2008, 12:08 am
Filed under: - Jo, Off the Shelves | Tags: , , , , ,

You know it’s summer, or it’s June, when the magazine stands are strewn with strings of words like “BEST BIKINI BUYS”, “THE SWIMSUIT ISSUE”, “WHERE TO SPEND YOUR SUMMER” blah blah blah…

I don’t really like those bikini spreads.

I don’t really like being in the sun. I’m quite fair, I can never get a tan no matter how long I stay in the sun, I only turn red and peel. That hurts. Also, I’m not anywhere near Angelina Jolie or Cameron Diaz’s shape, so even if those spreads have figure specific reccomendations, chances are girls like me will still end up looking like carelessly swaddled lumps of flesh.

Point is, I got two magazines – Nylon Japan and ViVi (Asian Edition) to tide me over this month of bikini bombardment.

From the looks of it, Japan seems to be quite preoccupied with gladiator sandals!


From Nylon


From ViVi

Like Vogueite, I am getting a bitttt tired of seeing gladiator sandals around. But those floral heeled sandals really appeal to me!


From Nylon


From ViVi

I love those lace trimmed navy blue shorts in the last picture! I shall see if I can modify any of my shorts 😀

I’m more accustomed to the clean, neat, but stylish layouts that most local magazines subscribe to, but I’m completely intrigued by the messy, chaotic, cutouts, intermingling text and pictures just makes me want moreeee.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Japanese NYLON is much girlier than the U.S. version! Love it!!

Comment by Jill @ Trend de la Creme




Leave a Reply

