WOTTONCOOL


Blind Thrifting
Friday 18 July 2008, 10:08 pm
Filed under: - Jo, Exhibit WC:, Off the Racks, OMGWTFBBQ, x $1 Goodness | Tags: , , , , ,

Blind thrifting – that’s the kind of ignorant thrifting I did a a few years back at my church’s charity shop. Well not to say that I’m a pro at it… but having read more blogs and the ways of the wise I think I am better equipped as I plough through the rows and racks of clothes.

That said, my blindness/ignorance landed me a few goodies that I have only recently discovered to be real gems!

Mummy: MINE!
Top: Topshop
Belt: Alaia
Jeans: Levi’s
Heels: From Hong Kong

Alaia! I didn’t know who or what the hell Alaia was, but I was pretty sure the person who bought the belt must have been very ripped off because it cost S$790, and it came from this place called Glamourette… which kinda sounded dodgy and cheapy to me a few years ago hahaha.

Well I didn’t realise it was Alaia until my mum dug out the belt to wear today in the outfit (minus the heels cos she wore mary janes – she’s a florist).

And Glamourette is (or was) not the least bit dodgy/cheapy. Glamourette was a multi label boutique that used to be housed in the now-defunct Promenade, stocking designers such as Emanuel Ungaro and Thierry Mugler (according to yesterday’s copy of Urban).

OH OH OH I GOT IT FOR S$1!

Quite a gem it is. I love that it’s in suede (CAN YOU RESIST TOUCHING SUEDEEEE?? ((molests belt)) hahaha) and it has these cute woven ribbons peeking out randomly.

BUT. I cannot fit it. My monster of a waist is 2 inches shy of the first belt hole ):

Ever since my mum came home from Chicago she’s been copping our stuff and dressing exceptionally well (: And LC from Fops and Dandies is going to Chicago too! I’m one of the lurkers who never surfaced. I think I ought to, especially since she is gonna leave blogging behind.

16 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Azzedine Alaïa, best known for his work with Thierry Mugler and then his eponymous label See here

Comment by Char

Wow, you have great shopping instincts! But don’t you wonder at anyone spending that kind of money on a belt?!

Comment by growareader

That is a super great find!! I can’t believe it!

It is a shame it is a bit tiny… >_-

Comment by Sarah

growareader I agree.. $790 is a lot of money for a belt!
i dont know of a lot people who’d pay tt kind of money on a belt.

i keep thinking that this belt must have been one heck of an impulse buy. OR the person was asleep when she gave it away. hahas.

jo, good find! :D:D:D

Comment by wottoncool

ah Alaia!!! he makes some of the chic-est belts ever… would you consider selling it to me though?

lol i would be willing to pay for bloody ALAIA, sigh!

Comment by Vogueite

WAH, $1!! Haha what an awesome deal! Lucky you!

Comment by X-Wen

WOW I can’t believe you found that for a dollar! perhaps there is a way it could be altered to fit by a shoe/leather repairman?

Comment by Pamcasso

I love a bargain and $1 is absolutely amazing! I’m kind of amazed the employees didn’t realize what a gem they had on their hands by the price tag.

Comment by Aja

vogueite mailed you! (:

x-wen, aja yeaa i think the S$790 price tag was what made me buy it. the great thing is that everything in my church’s thrift store goes at $1 😀

pamcasso i guess i could try and make more belt holes! thanks for the idea (:

Comment by wottoncool

Another great reason to go to church. 😛 haha.

Your mom is so lucky haha, to be able to thrift off you!! My mom is much smaller than me as well, but the sad part about it is that we can never share clothes :(. Her feet are way too small, but she’s got the greatest heels that fit probably only my toes :P.

Comment by ok-jk

ok-jk nooo my mum is wayyy tinier than me that’s why she can fit the Alaia belt. the Alaia belt probably fits a waist 26-27.5 the best? hahaha

Comment by wottoncool

[…] Shopping | Tags: military-inspired, Sale, Shopping, vest Although, Jo’s $1 Goodness series (here & here) takes the cake for best steals […]

Pingback by Good Investment! « WOTTONCOOL

[…] nicholas, H&M, uniqlo, vintage, SPY by Henry Lau, Bianca, Topshop, Zara, cute jumpsuits, my Alaia belt, and many other goodies, all going from $2 onwards! Possibly related posts: (automatically […]

Pingback by We’ve been in the garage « WOTTONCOOL

[…] other Alaia is was a suede belt, bought for a dollar, with a price tag of $790, that now belongs to […]

Pingback by Hel-lo! « WOTTONCOOL

OH MY GOD! GLAMOURETTE!!!
That was the most amazing luxury store in Singapore, it was the saddest day when it closed!

Comment by Joe King

I think I was too young to know any better when it closed. But from what I read on newspaper and stuff, the local fashion scene used to have a lot more “buzz”. That being said, I think things are improving now. (:

Comment by wottoncool




Leave a Reply

