WOTTONCOOL


Style Bubble + Urban Outfitters
Friday 29 August 2008, 10:45 pm
Filed under: - Jo, Desirables, Off the Racks | Tags: , , , , , , ,

I let out a mini gasp when my gmail flickered a subject that read “Style Bubble” and “Urban Outfitters” in the same line, heh.

UO gave Susie some of their new tights to try on. Then she took some pics and answered some questions.

Here’s the whole interview for your reading and viewing pleasure 😀

_____________________

UO: Tell us a bit about you

I was born in London and have lived here most of my life. My parents are from Hong Kong, where I visit frequently. I studied History at UCL in London. I hate the sound of metal scraping against metal. I can read The Forsyte Saga by John Galsworthy over and over again. I live in London with a mountain of skirts and dresses and not much else. I crave properly fried chicken wings (Hong Kong style…) and Portuguese custard tarts quite frequently – sometimes both at the same time.

UO: When and why did you decide to create Style Bubble?

I started Style Bubble in 2006. I decided to start it up because I had been reading blogs like Style Bytes and Fashionologie for a while and really wanted to have a place to document my thoughts, opinions and most important personal experiences in fashion.

UO: What sparked your interest in fashion?

A love of expressing myself through what I wear…and some amazing black patent T-bar shoes that I wore everywhere when I was five years old.

UO: Describe what you are wearing today?

I’ve just moved house so I’ve rediscovered old favorites such as my red Cacharel tweed skirt and ditzy floral top, the Viktor & Rolf for H&M red heart print tights that I never ever wore and some blue tweed flats that I wore six years ago.

UO: What’s on your iPod right now?

Late of the Pier, Cats in Paris, Metronomy’s new album, Bloc Party’s annoyingly catchy new single, David Holmes’ new album, Chromeo, Battles.

UO: What are your favorite things to do in London when not working?

Having tea and cakes at MaisonBertaux, hunting for bits and bobs at The Shop on Cheshire Street, shopping at Bang Bang, checking out the charity shops in and around Kensington, eating at St. Johns Bread and Wine, inhaling the smell of Escentric Molecule 01 in and around Shoreditch (lots of ppl wear it there for some reason?), watching films at the Curzon and doing the Guardian crossword in Bloomsbury Square.

UO: And what’s your favorite indulgence?

Buying too many magazines.

UO: What’s your favorite trend for fall?

Messed-up elegance and the unexpected twists added to conventional garments.

UO: Which designers do you admire?

I love so many designers at any given time. I have heroes that I admire for their aesthetic and their approach, including Giles Deacon, Nicholas Ghesquiere and Azzedine Alaia. As for wearing purposes, the list is really long. Jens Laugesen and Jean Pierre Brangaza have never failed me for wearability and fit.

UO: How would you describe yourself? And do you think your personality is evident in your blog?

Inquisitive, random, particular and very specific. It comes across in a way on the blog but you can’t reveal everything through a fashion blog because that would just be a little bit daunting.

UO: What advice would you give to aspiring young fashion bloggers?

Blog about everything in a genuine way and just write about what you love.

UO: What was the best piece of advice you were given when starting out?

I actually never got any advice unfortunately…I suppose people told me to get a thicker skin from the negativity that started to happen on the blog.

All text and images from urbanoutfitters.com

_____________________

I always find myself almost violently restraining myself from clicking the checkout button with at least three pairs of legwear and hosiery at UO. It just isn’t the most practical or comfortable thing to wear in Singapore!

But these two have been in my un-checked out cart for the past few hours..


Silence & Noise Coated Legging, USD38.00

Finally a *slightly* cheaper alternative to those exhorbitant American Apparel ones


Either Or Tights, USD14.00

First saw these on the fashion void that is dc – Brooke tried to DIY these! I think she was semi-successful, haha.

Mmmm, how tempting.

Just missing the Chanel logo ’round the ankles, no?

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

omg leggings are like the new pants nowadays.

i am looking for a pair of patent ones!

Comment by Laila

Oooh, I love Susie B. And that is a fantastic interview! Thanks for posting it here.

Comment by The Clothes Horse

Oh just like you i’ve been thinking of getting the latex-looking leggings for a few days now. i am absolutely in love with long leggings, no matter how much lindsay lohan has been trash-talked for wearing them all the time. but it definitely will be too hot to wear here in manila too!

are you going for it? if you are, i probably should too! that way we can suffer the heat together haha.

Comment by Mrs. C




Leave a Reply

