WOTTONCOOL


Sugar we’re going down
Thursday 25 September 2008, 11:40 pm
Filed under: - Jo, Desirables, DIY, Exhibit WC:, Inspirables, OMGWTFBBQ | Tags: , , , ,

I brought along a few fashion magazines to calm my nerves before the driving test today. And I passed!!!! Must be the awesome fashionness.

I passed in time for the F1 night race in Singapore, LOL. Sarah and boyfriend are going for the race – what are you gonna wear?!?!?!

So while browsing, I discovered this look in Elle Singapore

Drop crotch, check
Booties, check (okay so a bit old, but still)
Miu Miu reawakening sportswear, check
Leather jacket, check
Fur collar, check

That’s kinda like all the season’s coolest trends rolled into one right? It’s cool, but it’s not the kind that makes you sit up and go “Ooooohhhhh”, at least until you find at that those friggin cool knit drop-crotch pants are actually a TURTLENECK DISGUISED?

I think I might drop by Sino London to try that top on as pants. Well if they fit nicely on the top too why not!

Kudos to the stylist, Tabitha. She always has this bohemian, anything goes vibe about her styling. And really, anything goes for her! She puts the strangest pieces together and they work. Sarah and I are closet fans.

I tried it on with a long-sleeved something from my cupboard

Top: Black oversized batwing hoodie with tie from Hansel
Top/Pants: Grey long sleeved boat neck batwing wool top with drawstring from Taiwan
Shoes: Dove grey T-bars from Bianca

I would actually wear these “pants” out if not for the ginormous hOle at the back because of the grey top isn’t exactly long enough to be hoisted up from the front or back. I just pulled and tucked the drawstrings in at the back for the sake of this photo haha.

And I love my new shoes from Bianca because I’ve been wanting to get T-bars for the longest time but I just never got to it! (I was under the influences that the high bar near my ankle would make my calves, or my legs in general look shorter and stumpier than they already are. But I think these look quite… okay)

If you were wondering why I had this Fall Out Boy song title as my post title.. The drop crotch just reminds me of it. I actually don’t like FOB, but I love this video (not the official music video) of this song. Please go watch it!

15 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Woooah, I would have never guessed that those “pants” werent really pants! They look soo good! I’ll def have to try that out…
Thanks for the idea ❤

Comment by nice_and_shiny

That top works quite well as pants!

Comment by WendyB

nice and shiny they look cool, no? if you have a lonnnggg turtleneck it’d work better!

wendyb yea it does! i was pretty amazed 😀

Comment by jo

EGADS!!! drop crotch pants! 0.0 😐 they still scare me. but i wouldn’t have guessed that it is a top. (reminds me of a calvin and hobbes comic where calvin wore his shirt as pants)
But i must say that the styling was really well done.
im a (not so secret) Tabitha fan!!! (:

Comment by pinks

congrats on the pass! I was actually thinking, OMG Where is that drop crotch pant from, until i read further and realised it’s a top! you got me fooled! I thought i could check the price and give it a run for my money instead! its awesome.

Comment by clareassiral

pinks lol you’ll get over them. seriously you have the body shape to pull everything off pinks!

clareassiral thanks 😀 it fooled me too till i read the fine print! pretty genius eh?

Comment by wottoncool

oooh fantastic recreation

Comment by issa

so the neck has been stuffed down the front of her crotch eh? BRILLIANT! That is some winning styling if I’ve ever seen it.

By the way I LOVE your haircut. There are signs all around me telling me to go short . . . but I don’t think I can do it.

Comment by mayk

issa yeap!

mayk i say awesome styling too. thanks! i used to have hair your length a year ago, and i chopped it off in a heartbeat LOL.

Comment by wottoncool

That is a really great idea!

Comment by susie_bubble

susie i hope you’ll try it! especially since you’ve been skressing and all that. i haven’t thought of a suitable name for this though!

Comment by wottoncool

THOSE PANTS ARE A TOP?! That’s fantastic. I like your take on the outfit even better than the original. Thanks for checking out my blog! I recently stumbled across yours, and I think it’s great.

Comment by Nicole

Oh, and about my hair… It used to be shorter than chin-length, but I’m planning on growing it out. Sometimes it dries a bit too poufy for my taste, but I generally just comb it and go!

Comment by Nicole

nicole thanks! it’s actually the shape and poufiness of your hair i like. ahh. new hairstyle to aspire to haha

Comment by wottoncool

[…] making a reappearance. There’s a great example of how to make this look work in the website WOTTONCOOL, from which I borrowed the image above. I especially love that the writer used a dolman sleeve top, […]

Pingback by » Turning a dolman sleeve top into pants defiant fashion




Leave a Reply

