WOTTONCOOL


Tampines 1
Friday 10 April 2009, 5:23 am
Filed under: - Sarah | Tags: , , , , ,

The Boyfriend accompanied me to Tampines 1 on it’s first day open to the public.

(do you see where this is going?! 😀)

picture-017

And like moths to a flame, we honed in on

picture-0201

where else?! Uniqlo! hahas.

I wasn’t present to witness the 10am opening mayhem. But! at 11.30am, the crowd was unrelenting.

picture-0223picture-056

There was a queue to enter (although it did move relatively quickly)

picture-063picture-0241

And at some points, the queue to pay snaked till outside the store!!

We were hungry so decide to catch lunch before braving the queues

picture-0311

Manpuku was where we ended up

Aptly called the ‘Japanese Gourmet Town’, it offers a wide variety of Japanese foods such as Udon, Ramen, Sushi, Sashimi etc.

picture-0321picture-036

You are basically spoilt for choice for gourmet Japanese foods (at gourmet prices!!)

picture-050picture-047

picture-054

salivating yet?! 😀

picture-049picture-040picture-052

They’ve even gone through the painstaking efforts of recreating an old Japanese town ambience for diners.

So. What did I have for lunch?

picture-041

Sho-yu Cha-shu Ramen (Soy Sauce Char Siew Ramen) $10.80

the chili flakes were my addition. And the staff was a little bit over-zealous with the soy sauce (save your kidneys, choose miso-based ramens)

The boyfriend had…

picture-043

Mushroom soup $2.00. and Omelette $6.80.

and he also ‘secretly’ took photos of me eating. how glamourous?!

picture-046

Anyway, after our meal, we walked about and I caught a glimpse of the pool that belongs to Amore Living. Then went to Uniqlo to look around.

Singaporeans were out in full force to storm the store.

picture-060

And at this point, I’d like to observe a moment’s silence to express my sincere appreciation, apologies and condolences to the staff of Uniqlo. Who have to spend the whole day

  1. Standing – serving you at the cashier, attending to you in the fitting rooms, fielding your questions, searching for your size
  2. Folding – the items that are accumulating in mountains all over the store
  3. Being on their toes – to ensure that everyone leaves as a happy customer.

Having worked in sales for 2 years, the feeling is all too familiar.

THANK YOU UNIQLO STAFF!

And since I was there… I decided to add a few more items to my small (but growing :D!) collection.

picture-0711

My outfit for the day:

Denim vest: from my childhood
Metallic Tank top: nicholas
Sky blue shorts: Uniqlo
Canvas bag: Uniqlo
Shoes (not shown): Puma
In my arms: 2 tanks + 2 UTs + 1 shorts + Boyfriend’s UT

Prices were marked down because of the opening. I just had to. 😀

Plus! Because I had been to the shop on Monday, I already knew my size, thus avoided the need to use the fitting room completely. yes!

Content with my purchases, I explored the downstairs areas

picture-074

Promod had the loveliest Fuschia pink harem pants for sale.

picture-075picture-076

UrbanWrite by Popular just beckons!!!

But. Since it’s study week, I ought to be studying. So I did. I parked myself at Teadot.

picture-0301

picture-078

With my Angel’s Breath tea…

And studied the afternoon away. (:

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

im pretty jealous right now..:x

Comment by emma

I think I saw U at Teadot! Hahahaha. Anywho, I’m loving Tampines 1! Don’t U? Oh yeah, how do U get that Uniqlo bag? Did U attend their press con or something? 🙂

Comment by Niz

Hey Niz, next time… say hi! (: and yeah.. it was their goodie bag from the pre-launch preview of the store.

Comment by wottoncool

Hmm…that ramen looks delish….glad to see Uniqlo got a warm/hot reception!

Comment by susie_bubble

mayhem oh goodness! You’re the only person who posted a photo of what Tampines 1 looks like from the outside, thanks for that cos i’ve been wondering!

Comment by greenlaundry




Leave a Reply

