WOTTONCOOL


RAFW SS09 – Zambesi
Monday 4 May 2009, 7:25 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , ,

Rosemount Australian Fashion Week Spring Summer 2009

rafw200910zambesibackstagemeg7ouqvyc9l

rafw200910zambesibackstagej9vplqdgi6kl

Zambesi is a label that doesn’t really have a signature look, unless you can call lots of light layering one..

Every look in every season kinda stands for itself. It’s free, kinda low-key, and just that little bit quirky.

rafw200910zambesibackstagecfyev1fsaycl

rafw200910zambesibackstagefa0d1lsnpwcl

(It’s probably not fair that I’m drawing references to other designers, but) Zambesi can look anything from Limi Feu to Stella McCartney. Not that you can plop names into a Limi Feu-Stella McCartney spectrum – you get what I mean.

The collection didn’t make me go “Oooo that’s so cute!” or “I totally must have that..” Did you get any thunderous epiphanies? I sure didn’t. I’m not sure how this came about – but it made me feel like heaving a sigh of relief.

Maybe Zambesi doesn’t draw high pitched “Oh that’s so genius” squeals from the floor, but there is a quiet exuberance about the clothes and the looks.

zam2

zam1

zam3

No towering wedge-platform-pumps mutants (they’re all wearing oxfords! The two-tone white and cream one are quite covetable on close inspection), “trendy” prints, showy zippers or gimmicky fringes. Oh, maybe they gave in with the harnesses… maybe they’re supposed to be seatbelts!

Now allow me to deliver a civilised, collected, composed, poised and polished verdict.

“I like this collection.”

(I usually go “OMGWTFBBQ!”, “I WANT!” “EXCLAMATION MARKS!!!!!!!!”)

Pictures from here. More here.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

The shoes I bough are called Stolinski, and you can find them here: http://www.aldoshoes.com/ca-eng/women/pumps/peep-toe/74017956-stolinski/32

They’re quite high but surprisingly comfy!

Comment by Sabrina

I’m loving all the outfits. Masculine and a touch of feminine. awesome =D

Comment by umi




Leave a Reply

