WOTTONCOOL


I HAVE A REASON FOR ALL OF THIS

Yes, I have a perfect reason for my irresponsible absence in these few months, and this is it!

P1000910

Er yea, two dresses… Project Runway participants can churn out almost-couture in a day or two, but yes I needed a few months to draw, plan, decide and (attempt to) sew a raglan sweater dress with ginormous sleeves and a maxi dress with a corset belt thing. Very simple shapes cos as it is, I cannot sew. I didn’t know how to operate a sewing machine. And when I got to learning, it was on one of those huge table-like vintage ones with pedals, which is probably older than I am.

So how did all this come about? The student union decided that in order to promote their active, wholesome, holistic, all-rounded student body, a fashion show would do the trick, heh.

They posted an annoucement looking for student fashion designers who would design two outfits. The theme was “bright colours” and my first thought was, uh-oh. But my friend and I decided to join anyway!

I don’t have much to say about the runway show itself, but I’m glad I joined because I completed two dresses, which I wouldn’t have done so otherwise because nothing can get my lazy self movin’.

Pictures from the rehearsal.

P1010014

I tried to copy Ungaro’s SS08 two-tone lips on my models. I think I lurve it. They were making lipstick prints on Kleenex with their lip colours cos it looked so kewl.

Boizzzz, would you kiss a girl with lips coloured like that?

Unlike many people (like etsy sellers) who proclaim that their clothes are professionally serged with love, I can only assure you of the most noob or sewing in my dresses. (Except for the long dark grey one because my aunt did it for me :D)

P1010018

Zuper tall and leggy Lynette with Sharmaine.

Basically, I did not have any grand idea whatsoever. I only knew that I had a bright colours theme and I wanted to use neon.

Then there came bits of Susie Bubble‘s heather grey+neon confections, recalling my horrors of seeing neon yarn, cross stitch string and netting in my childhood, and a bad attempt at embroidery for a cheesy something for my boyfriend 😛

I actually told the hosts that ooohhh I was inspired by sportswear and all that jazz, but seriously, it’s as random as random gets.

I quite like the texture that I got from weaving the yarn and netting. Haven’t got a chance to get a proper close up.

P1010019

The hat was from Accessorize and I paid no more than $12 for it. It was on a 70% discount. I say the above in past tense not only because the deed was already done, but because IT IS MISSING!!!!!!!

I couldn’t find it the night before the show and I was totally phreaking out (doesn’t freaky sound more emphatic with ‘ph’ instead? lol).

Anyway I did without it.

P1010036

(Please ignore the tumourous/intestinal-looking thing around Kelly’s waist. It was a belt work-in-progress.)

You know what, looking at Michelle’s dresses makes me feel colour-impaired. I lurve the colours she used in her dresses! Yes we all know the thing about complimentary colours, but I wouldn’t have come up with something like that.

Btw, she designs very lovely jewellry too 😀

Pictures from the actual day.

Untitled-1

6172_116580726228_574706228

Untitled-1h

Makeup on the actual day done by one of my best friends, Praveena 😀

Sorry their faces look kinda skewed. That’s what wide angle lenses do to you.

6172_116580761228_574706228_2355975_4672793_n

Happy faces after the show. This is actually the least tired-looking ones out of the lot!

More to come!

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

OOOH you did a fantastic job!!

Comment by issa

thanks issa!

Comment by wottoncool

WOW! Your first foray into fashion design! Awesome job!!! Can’t wait to see it in real-life, bring leh!

Comment by X-Wen

thanks x-wen! how to bringgg.. my sewing is so bad it might just fall apart 😛 lol. actually it probably is just rotting in the garment bag cos i haven’t taken it out since the show 😮

Comment by wottoncool

i think urs was the MOST runway worthy out of all

Comment by linnette

chankups ver much sistaz

Comment by wottoncool

yup i agree with the comment above! saw all the clothes designed and yours was the MOST coherent of all!

Comment by Cori




Leave a Reply

