WOTTONCOOL


The Big Budget Breakdown
Sunday 18 April 2010, 12:44 am
Filed under: - Sarah | Tags: , , ,

As you probably would have figured, Jo and I are in a contest. And initially one of the conditions were that we style 3 looks with the given budget of $500. (Midway, the organizers did away with this rule.)

But perhaps its my position as a Finance Secretary in school that compels me to declare and be uber transparent about my expenses for this competition.

So below is a breakdown of my budget and expenses for each week’s look.

Budget:

With regards to budgeting, my strategy was to equally divide $500 by 3 and set aside that amount for each look. (NOTE: I do not factor in the cost of the featured item since it is pre-determined and given before-hand)

So that equates to $166.67 per look. Which isn’t a lot really.

Expenses:

In total, I spent $458.40 although because I recycled some of the items, each looks amounts to more.

Factoring in the repeats, my total expenses come up to $493.30.

$6.70 under budget.  (:

Personally, I think it is a flaw to do away with a budget limitation. My thoughts are that the competition would have a tendency to favour a person who was willing to splurge more of their own moolah. Cos you can buy nicer stuffs from Topshop and the like if moneh isn’t a factor.

And maybe, this will be where I lose out. For not sticking to mass market/big name/household brands. And being so cheapo with my purchases.

But at least, I like what I have put together for you to view (and vote! tehehes)

Hope you like it too. (:

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

the judges didn’t take the costs into account, did they? sorry, i didn’t really digest everyth about this contest.

i liked your 1st outfit the best out of these 3. i didn’t understand why the 2nd judge was quite so anal but the different textures you used when you’re not the only one who clashed textures (he commented the same about Valencia’s Russian Doll getup, if i’m not wrong). if anything, i thought your clashing wasn’t very apparent at all. i thought fashion IS about clashing. lol.

Comment by Tom Tuttle from Tacoma

i meant “anal ABOUT the different textures”…

Comment by Tom Tuttle from Tacoma

Ive been reading your blog for about a year or so, from America! These posts are SO adorable 🙂

Comment by Alicia

I had no idea the budget was done away with! D8
…not that I would’ve forked out my own money anyway lolol.

Comment by Lenne




Leave a Reply

