WOTTONCOOL


What’s the time Mr. Wolf?
Wednesday 16 June 2010, 5:05 pm
Filed under: - Sarah | Tags: ,

Recently, I chanced upon Nooka and was very taken by their rather unusual watches.

(Source)

Going against every fibre of convention, Nooka watches don’t have the typical (analog or digital) watch face.

I don’t know about you, but as much as I am a fan of the analog, til today I still have trouble reading them. I’d accidentally subtract an hour or add one at whim. Causing the time-inquisitive party to do a double-take and correct me, the watch-wearing one. oops 😀

Instead they have a series of dots, dashes and lines.

How do I tell the time?

(Source)

Basically, they break it down into 3 components. Hours. Minutes. Seconds.

For the gold watch (above), the large(r) circles represent the hours, the long line across the watch depicts minutes and two-digit couple in the corner (I think) represent the seconds.

Therefore reads 8 seconds into (approximately) 4:20 pm.

Interesting, yes? (:

(Source)

These are some of their other designs. I’m so intrigued that there is no watch face. No numbers to tell the time. Just a bunch of dots.

Aren’t you intrigued?

(Source)

Wouldn’t mind getting something like that after my current wood watch dies. But I doubt that will be anytime soon.

For now, a Nooka watch will stay on my wishlist.

Check our the Nooka Asia Facebook Page for more details though, I hear their sunglasses will be gracing our sunny island soon…

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I can’t help but think of Nokia when I see the brand. 😛

Comment by DK

hahas. somewhat. yeah…

Comment by wottoncool




Leave a Reply

