WOTTONCOOL


Dusk to Dust
Sunday 25 July 2010, 9:44 pm
Filed under: - Jo, Inspirables, People-watching | Tags: , , , ,

When my boyfriend showed me these photos he took while walking around Stockholm Central, we (or rather, I) gushed over the cute girl on the right – from her rounded bob, oversized collar, high-waist pants, how she rolled up her cuff and hems, the feather in her hair, her peep-toe slingback sandals that kinda remind me of my childhood pair…

When I was uploading and reviewing our photos, I was thinking.. all she’s wearing is brown! wow. And she doesn’t look like soil. She’s kinda like a vintage pocahontas, if that makes any sense.

Then I was editing the pictures and piecing them together for this post, and it just occurred to me that the lady beside her is drowning in blue. Top-to-toe. Neck-to-shin. Her kid. His stroller. I like her scarf, the length of her sleeves, her blunt bangs and blunt locks, her A-line skirt and her matchy-matchy son.

Isn’t the mark of wearing an all-over single colour well, the fact that people don’t notice it?

Alright you may say, vary tone, vary shade, vary texture, but I feel like I need guidance and tuition to pull off whole non-black looks like those two. I fear looking like a dirty fox beside a pool of muddy water in soil.

Photos by my boyfriend.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Oh wow. I absolutely love the girl in brown’s style.

Comment by nabbycat




Leave a Reply

