WOTTONCOOL


This way to Topshop | Topman >>>
Tuesday 5 October 2010, 2:11 am
Filed under: - Sarah, Off the Racks, Off the Runway | Tags: , , , ,

Topshop threw out all the stops with this one. Treating not just the select media posse, but also treating all the VIPs (i.e. Topshop/Topman top spenders) to an exclusive preview of the Fall/Winter collection. The stage was set at ION Orchard’s Level 8 Carpark with a whole section cordoned off for guests to roam free and soak in the atmosphere.

Silly me left school late, was held up by rush-hour traffic and arrived fashionably late. Therefore, MISSING the men’s showcase almost in it’s entirety.  ):

In addition, from what I gather… I also missed out on free alcohol/beer/coke/frozen yogurt/mini burgers and trail Minx nails being dished out to everyone there. (By the end of the evening, you could almost make out the words ‘FEED.ME!’ across my face. heh!)

Upon arriving, I then had to fight through throngs of crowds and angle past random heads in order to get decent shots of the models as they strut down the runway. Thank goodness my natural and ALDO-assisted height advantage got me a relatively good spot to bring you these snaps>

There were some simpler outfits such as this one, which is a lot more of my style (I suppose)

This model’s leather harness/strap thing looked really nice paired with this dress. Didn’t see it at the store though.

Anyway, consistently throughout the show, there were the usual fierce shoes that Topshop never fails to deliver.

In addition, there was a lot of lace and interpretations of lace on fabrics that felt luxurious without being stuffy.

Fur was another fun textural element recurring throughout the show… hats, coats, headbands and purses all had some fuzz, reminding me of Chanel’s 2010 Fall RTW Russian teddy-bear collection.

After the show, we were guided down to Basement 2 by the models, whom I am 99.9% convinced come from another planet altogether! Humans don’t come this tall do they?!

Here I am, 1.7 metres (which, I would say is above average already) AND in 3-inch ALDO wedges that evening. AND this model is still a good half-a-head taller than me!!! She comes from the planet of Glamazonia, where women are all beautiful, six-feet and stick-thin (in the healthy, proportionate sorta way)

Anyway, with my $50 complimentary voucher, I bought a buncha stuff from Topman for a friend. Didn’t get anything for myself. But accompanied Laila and Gigi to brave the MASSIVE queue to pay for their purchases. In total, I think it was at least a half-hour wait to make payment. /:

But everyone walked away unharmed and new purchases in tow…

while I got 7 blisters from being in my ALDOs all day.

While waiting, I tried on their thigh-high boots. Which required some wrestling and wriggling in order to squeeze my sasquatch-feet that are almost too big for their size 39s. Pretty as the shoes are, they are 20-second shoes… I could feel a blister forming as I strolled back and forth in them. /:

Topshop… do ya’ll make it in size 40? 😀  Anyway, I wore a metallic Nicholas top, pleated Abyzz pants, H&M necklace (gift from Jo), wood watch from T1 and, in this photo, Topshop boots.

Thanks Laila for the photos… I look so slim and long here. Happy!

Video of the final walks coming soon!

[Edited: 5 October 2010] Videos have been uploaded! You can watch Topman and Topshop final walks now!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

i love topshop 🙂 and the boot looks amazing on u!!

Comment by umi

Thanks umi!

Comment by wottoncool

No problem! and you look really great in those boots, me with short legs will never get to pull that off lol

PS thanks for queueing with us 🙂

x

Laila

Comment by Laila

but you ARE slim!

Comment by ++f+




Leave a Reply

