WOTTONCOOL


Toh-Key-Oh!
Saturday 9 October 2010, 12:00 am
Filed under: - Sarah | Tags: ,

This December will be my first time at the land of the rising sun. I am beyond myself in excitement to see, hear, smell, taste, feel, live and experience Tokyo first-hand.

And because I’m an absolute noob, I’m wondering do you have any recommendations??? 😀

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I will be heading up in November. Woot!

Comment by Bagaholicboy

shimokitazawa, just west of harajuku has the best shopping! I would also recommend eating doner kabobs and indian food, perhaps a strange suggestion for japan, but they’re so good there!

Comment by Lily

Thanks for the suggestion Lily! Is the shopping at Shimokitazawa expensive though?

Comment by wottoncool

Hit up Shimokitazawa and/or Kichijoji (both, if you have the time!) for vintage and quirky finds; Nakameguro and the surrounding neighbourhoods for quaint cafes; Daikanyama for mid-range to upscale brands… What do you want to do/see there?

Comment by Soshi

Hey Soshi (: Thank you for the suggestions. I’m quite game to try/see/experience anything really.

Although I am quite curious to check out cafes, vintages shops and people watch. Maybe even colour & cut my hair?

And I’ve heard of cat cafes.. would really like to visit one while I’m there.

Comment by wottoncool

For cat cafes, there’re a few in Ikebukuro but I’d recommend NekoJalala (http://www.nekojalala.com/akibaAccessMap.html map 😀 ).

If you’re in Harajuku/Omotesando and want to quickly duck into something different, head to Hanjiro which is opposite LaForet (which houses Topshop if I remember correctly). They have eclectic pieces and they aren’t too hard on your wallet. Also, the basement of the same building has a massive thrift store!

Shimokitazawa’s shopping/vintage finds are cheap to reasonable. You definitely can get good bargains.

Comment by Soshi

http://www.venusfort.co.jp/multi/index_e.html

VENUS FORT! It’s supposed to look like 18th century Italy, and the articifial sun sets over the ‘streets’ every 30mins ❤

Comment by yuntian

Thank you Yuntian for the suggestion. (:

Comment by wottoncool




Leave a Reply

