WOTTONCOOL


Clarks Wallabees
Tuesday 30 November 2010, 1:04 pm
Filed under: - Jo, Exhibit WC: | Tags: , , , , ,

These are a special pair of shoes, because my dad bought a pair each for my sister and I. When was the last time you said something like that? At five years old maybe? Still I think he wasn’t the one who bought me my shoesies then, haha.

He bought them while we were in Hong Kong two years ago and just wandering around Tsim Sha Tsui.

My sister saw a cognac-coloured pair first and got them, and then I threw a hissy fit and demanded a pair too. No actually I used whatever’s left of my daddy-manipulating skillz to get free shooz :D

While we were trying them on, I think he was secretly excited, cos he doesn’t like seeing us go around in heels, or slippers (very extreme, I know). He told us about how he used to wear Wallabees when he was younger, how they were actually meant to be comfortable work shoes (not fashionable things), and how the thick rubber soles would bloat when they came into contact wih engine oil at his old work place. Cool. But I haven’t had the chance to see that happen to mine. Heh.

Mine are a very light tan suede (which daddy didn’t approve of, but o well.) And the grundgiest place I’ve taken them to is… Orchard Road. With my Longchamp x Jeremy Scott footprint bag, Topshop silk shirt and Cheap Monday jeans.

They are insanely comfortable, but also terribly unsexy. Kinda like my Sperry Top Siders.

Not quite sure why they are call Wallabees. Does not at all resemble its namesake kangaroo species. Any ideas?

Digression: Did you know there’s such a thing as… Wallaroos?

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

did u get the lc in singapore? really nice!

Comment by rarah

hey! nope i got it in paris’ la vallee outlet village at a discount cos it was from a few seasons back i think. should have been available in singapore at that time tho!

Comment by wottoncool




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

