SFF08 – Qiu Hao’s Something’s Growing

Sarah and I were ALMOST going to give Qiu Hao a miss, because who IS Qiu Hao?He’s a pretty talented Shanghainese that graduated from St Martin’s (Just like Jo Soh of Hansel). I only got to know about this after a brief google search that led me to two videos –

I liked to organic, earthy feel that reverberated through the easy-on-the-eyes drapery crossed with minimalist shapes in video, so I grabbed Sarah and I some tickets! It was worth it 😀

In this collection for the SFF08, I don’t know what it is supposed to be really, but there was this recurrence of a loosely draped and layered lobes(?) on shawls, jackets, and other pieces. The reason for their presence intrigues and evades me all at the same time. There is also this delightful haphazardness in the exaggerated lengths of stray cloth falling precariously from wraparound tops and dresses. These two aspect keeps your eyes hooked to the runway. There’s so much movement in the pieces, especially since the models were walking at lightning speed(!). (Never mind that the music was a tadddddd bit loud and there was this cute little boy on the opposite shielding his ears from the might speakers)

r134380558.jpg r3302145630.jpg
Different treatment of the lobes – soft, lush and layered vs stiff, staggered and few
Photos from Yahoo! News

img_8279.jpg

img_8293.jpg
Hypnotic strands of fabric trailing the models’ a tad too-fast-too-furious walks

(An aside: yes, I do realise how bad my pictures look in comparison to the professionally taken ones. I shall borrow the bf’s camera and hopefully leech some of his leet skills for Wednesday’s show :D)

Most of the pieces had these cute peekaboo (because it’s not exactly bare) back from an over shoulder and looped back drape.

img_8299.jpg img_8274.jpg
I think the picture explains it better, haha!

r2656160460.jpg
The designer, Qiu Hao flanked by two lanky models
Photo from Yahoo! News

He said in the video that fashion is about chance and I’m glad he managed to chance upon that. We could use something like chance and luck in the future too! Talent too, of course. I think if he weren’t a fashion designer he might become a monk (look at his head!), haha. I get the feeling that he’s pretty down to earth, un-hoity-toity and friendly. He only has a very loud pair of gold shoes, lol.

img_8332.jpg
Shiny, happy gold shoes!
I think the show was quite a visual feast, if you look out for the littlest details (: Pity the turn-out wasn’t good enough to fill the entire tent.

Yay for emerging international designers!

One Comment

Leave a comment